2009 Weave of the week #14: Woven sheep

Woven sheep

Woven sheep

This is a busy holiday week and I have an important weaving deadline coming up so I wanted to find a simple weave to write about that would evoke spring, and here it is.

It is another unidentified handwoven textile from my random collection, possibly a small hand towel (9″x 13″), and its gentle colors and peaceful image are just what I was looking for.

Whoever wove it was skilled enough to make the weaving look easy. I have never done any inlay weaving, so I don’t know firsthand how challenging it is to make a recognizable sheep with inlay technique, but this sheep is well proportioned and nicely woven. The cloth is solid white warp (32 epi) and blue weft (28 ppi) and has a single brown and green border at each end. Edges are neatly hand finished with impressively flat hems and even selvedges. Except for a slight variation in the border weave and the hem fold, both sides of the fabric are identical. For a better look at the sheep and border (and hem), here’s a detail:

Woven sheep detail

Woven sheep detail

I had better get back to my own weaving  now but I wish you happy spring, happy Easter, and happy Passover.

6 Responses

  1. Thank you for letting me include you on my blogroll. I enjoy your site; the color, composition and intricate designs.

    We have Border Liester, Corriedale, Wensleydale, and Romney Sheep, all have black faces. Soon we will have Gotland, a Swedish sheep which has a black face and lustrous grey wool.

    I will begin to write after lambing season is done.
    Thank you again, Lynne

    • Lynn, Thank you for reading and commenting.
      Best of luck with the lambing. I’m looking forward to reading — and seeing — more about it.

      Fern

  2. Yay for a deadline met!!! (And of course you get to choose what you talk about in your blog!!! Mystery can be a good thing!)

    Your post makes me realize that I should start exploring my interest in figures in weaving….I don’t know if that’s the right way to describe it exactly – but the part of weaving that interests me most is producing different renditions of recognizable figures as part of the weaving process….and I’m not exploring that really…..just going with the flow and following new yarn or new equipment and the direction they lead me…..but I should make room for some of the weave structures that can produce figures….like inlay.

    Sorry for the stream of consciousness. But thanks for reminding me to pursue what speaks to me most!

    Sue

  3. Thanks for sharing the spring sheep. You’re right – the weaver did make inlay look easy. I’ve definitely seen examples of difficult-looking inlay….but haven’t made any of my own yet.

    A weaving deadline of your own? Do tell!!

    Sue

    • Hi, Sue – Whenever I get around to my next warp, I hope that it will be for some fun inlay experiments!
      Re deadline, I’m relieved that everything got woven and shipped on time and now it’s out of my hands. I hate to sound mysterious but don’t feel comfortable saying more yet. Thanks for asking though.

  4. We both chose inlay as our theme for our blogs almost at the same time – great minds do think alike, Fern! I love this sheep inlay, so delicate and whimsical. Thanks for sharing it.

Leave a Reply

