2008 Weave of the week #8: Mystery vest

Vest front view

Vest front view

Can anyone identify the modest, anonymous weaver of this mystery vest?

I bought it from a now-defunct store (called Macondo) in Soho sometime during the 1970s, and all the receipt says is “vest handwoven cotton, $170.00.” It was woven and finished with great care and skill and is complexly engineered (there are closeup, detail photos on my Gallery page), but there was no label or hangtag on the garment.  I love the vest, and I wish that I had thought to ask, when I bought it, who the maker was — any clues, anyone?

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

